Local ACS Section Logo
Career Night, 2009
with your local YCC

Chemistry Career Night, 2009

Sponsored and organized by the St Louis Section–Younger Chemist Committee (YCC)

Attendees at venue

Attendees awaiting the start of the Career Night presentations

On the anniversary of the first YCC Career Night, the Younger Chemist Committee of American Chemical Society St Louis section organized its second annual Chemistry Career Night, September 17, 2009, at Sigma-Aldrich’s state-of-the-art Research and Development Center. The event was organized to help younger chemists—undergraduates, graduate students, academics, and those early in their industrial careers—by bringing together a panel of five experienced chemists to speak about their careers and share career advice. The agenda for the event was as follows:

Before the presentations, light refreshments and appetizers were provided, allowing attendees the opportunity to network and meet the speakers. All who attended the event received a program and information about ACS.

The event began with an introduction to the ACS local section by Keith Stine (chemistry professor at UMSL and YCC advisor), who then introduced YCC Chair Arindam Roy. Roy spoke about the YCC, welcomed the audience of over 100 attendees, and introduced the YCC officers and members who coordinated the event.

The speakers and panelists were:

In their presentations, the speakers shared career advice relative to their respective backgrounds. Then the speakers formed a panel and answered questions from the audience for about 20 minutes.

Each of the speakers was presented with a certificate and a gift of appreciation. Dr Sean Dingman and Prof Keith Stine were also recognized and presented with a gift and certificate for their help in putting together the event. Following the formal program, everyone moved back to a spacious adjoining conference room for dinner and the opportunity to network. Many stayed to talk to the speakers and with each other while enjoying dinner.

The event was supported financially by several corporate sponsors, including Sigma-Aldrich, Varian, Monsanto, Missouri Analytical Laboratories, and the St Louis Section–ACS. Saint Louis University provided printing of the program booklets and signs. Sigma-Aldrich also provided the meeting space.

YCC members

YCC members, from back: Sara Torkamani, David Brownholland, Arindam Roy (YCC Chair), Francisco Franco (YCC Events Coordinator), Dayna Turner (YCC Event Coordinator), Archana Parameswar (YCC Treasurer), Eric Bruton (YCC Co-Chair), Amber Davis (YCC Media). Eva Stastna and Charles Johnson were taking pictures.

Presenters sitting as panel for QA

Invited speakers sitting as a panel to take questions from the audience: (from left) Jai Nagarkatti, Jeff Graham, Lisa Balbes, Michael Gross, Ralph Heasley

Keith Stine, Archana Parameswar

Keith Stine receiving a certificate of recognition from the YCC for all the help he has been to the committee

Dinner and networking after

Attendees after the panel discussion networking, enjoyed food, and refreshments

Speakers and YCC members

Some of the YCC officers with the speakers. Back row: Ralph Heasley, Jeff Graham, Lisa Balbes, Jai Nagarkatti, Michael Gross. Front row: Keith Stine, Arindam Roy, Archana Parameswar, Eric Bruton

If you need more information or have problems with this site, please contact the WebMaster.